Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter Find us on Youtube View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

Tenders & Suppliers Info

News & Recruitment

Public Information

Passenger Information

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Opening of Heritage Gully Phase-2 at CSMT

Opening of Heritage Gully Phase-2 at CSMT
Shri D. K. Sharma, General Manager, Central Railway inaugurated Heritage Gully, Phase–II at Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus, Mumbai. Shri S.K Jain, DRM, Mumbai Division, other senior railway officials and heritage enthusiasts were also present o­n the occasion. Thereafter Shri D. K. Sharma inaugurated exhibition of paintings and photographs of CSMT Heritage Building organised by Mumbai Division of Central Railway at CSMT (between Suburban and Long distance trains concourse).

Later Shri Sharma along with others saw the paintings o­n heritage theme o­n the wall of platform no.18 and appreciated the same. All these events were part of Heritage month being celebrated o­n railways.

Neral – Matheran toy train with Heritage Steam Engine along with Vista-Dome coach was run at Neral today which was also an event of Heritage month.  The train consisting o­ne Vista-Dome coach and o­ne First class coach was hauled by oil-fired steam engine in presence of Senior officers of Central railway, Tourists and Heritage Lovers.  

The Heritage Gully, Phase - II at Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus is situated near Platform No. 18 closer to the east side entry to the station. Sir. Leslie Wilson, the GIP Heritage Electric Loco which ran between Boribunder and Coorla is o­ne of the items placed amongst many other engineering & other artefacts were already opened for public last year in phase -I. 

The details of the rare heritage items Heritage Gully Phase –II are as under:  

WCG-1 (EF/1) ‘Crocodile / Krokodil’
Initially EF/1, later WCG-1 manufactured in 1928 by Swiss Locomotive Works Company. 
Voltage: 1500 V DC 
Gauge: BG (5’6”)  
Wheel arrangements: C-C Type. “C” means there are three powered axles under the unit.

M/s Nasmith, Wilson & co. Limited, UK
Class    :   Loco No. F717
Voltage: 1500 V DC 
Gauge: NG (5’6”) 
Weight of Loco : 38 tonnes
Length of loco: 29.1 Ft. 
Class- F Class manufactured in 1928 

Manufacturers:  Chittaranjan Locomotive Works
Traction Motors:  Heil TM 4939AZ (690 HP, 700 V, 800 A, 1070 rpm)
Class    :   WCG- 2 manufactured in 1976
Voltage: 1500 V DC 
Total Power : 4200 HP
Gauge: NG (5’6”) 
Weight of Loco : 3670 Kg. 
Rated Speed: 80 Km/Hr after upgrade 90 Km/he
Pantographs:  Two, Faiveley AM – 18 B 

WCG-2 Custom built freight loco for the 1.5 KVDC section of the CR. Co-Co is the wheel arrangements for a diesel locomotive with two six- wheeled bogies with all axles powered, with a separate motor per axle. 

Heritage Wagon Rolling stock
Wagon No: CR 77918 BC 
Year of Manufacture: 1920 
Built by: The Birmingham Railway Carriage and wagon Company (BRC&W) England. 

The Birmingham Railway Carriage and wagon Company (BRC&W) was Railway Locomotive and Carriage builder, founded in England.  
Company (BRC&W) England and for most of its existence, located at nearby Smethwick, with the factory divided by boundary between the two places. The company was established in 1854.  
----- --------- ---------- ------ ---------
Date: February 23, 2019
This news is issued by Sunil Udasi, Chief Public Relations Officer, Central Railway, Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus Mumbai.

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.