Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter Find us on Youtube View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

Tenders & Suppliers Info

News & Recruitment

Public Information

Time Table

Contact Us

About Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page


                             Shri Neeraj Kumar Dohare, IRSS  has taken over charge of 

               Divisional Railway Manager /C.Rly/Solapur Division on 11.10.2022


Photo feature on Solapur Division


RTI Act 2005

General Administration Organizational Setup


Name of Officer


Phone No.


Shri Neeraj Kumar Dohare

Divisional Railway Manager



Shri Shailendra Singh Parihar 

Additional Divisional Railway Manager



Shri R. C. Meena

EA to DRM &

Sr. Divisional Material Manager




Shri P.G.Waghmode 


Solapur Division

As a Railway system, Solapur Division is over 140 years old with main line stretching from Raichur to Pune/Manmad as a part of GIP Railway.After formation of Zonal Railways, later it became a part of South Central Railway between 1966 to 1977, shedding some routes and re-gaining a part later, after it came back to C.Rly.It originally had a combination of BG in main routes besides a short Branch of MG towards Bijapur, which is now BG and about 370 Kms. long stretch of NG connecting Miraj with Latur. This long NG route of Barshi Light Railway (BLR) has also recently become a part of history, with the entire length route having been fully converted into BG.

There are many tall tiled roof buildings throughout the division, posing challenges for maintenance, but providing grandeur look and convenience of high ceiling pitched roof.‘E’ shaped Divisional Offices building with tiled roof and grand long Varandah on either side of the row of offices and greenery in between, is definitely a vintage stuff.This must be one of the unique Divisional Offices building in the entire Indian Railways.Divisional Railway Manager’s residence is also a landmark building in the entire Solapur city

Solapur which is an agglomeration of 16 (Sola) villages to its present status has its great moments in history.Dr. Dwarkanath Kotnis is a proud son of Solapur who was chosen and deputed to China to treat wounded Chinese soldiers during Sino-Japanese War in 1938.Yeomen services rendered by Dr. Dwarkanath Kotnis for 4 years in China till he passed away at an young age of only 32 years, is still being remembered strongly by Govt. of China.

During ‘Salt Satyagraha Movement’ of Mahatma Gandhi in 1930, Solapur city literally declared freedom for 3 days from British rule during May 1930 when all the Govt. officials and Police were forced out of the town.Tri-colour flag was made to fly on the Municipal building for these 3 days, till the British Army marched into Solapur to restore British rule.For this unprecedented agitation, 4 freedom fighters, namely Mallappa Dhanshetty, Vasant Shinde, Kurban Hussain and Kisan Sarda were captured, tried before Military Court and hanged to death in Jan.1931.All these four Martyrs made their niche in History of Freedom Struggle of India.

Solapur Division includes southern Maharashtra region and Kalaburagi  District of Karnataka.  It forms part of the Main Line between Mumbai & Chennai. Solapur division is ushering in a new era of development for this region.Following projects which are under way will begin a period of transformation for this region to bring growth and prosperity within the next 3 years.


Source : Central Railway / Indian Railways Portal CMS Team Last Reviewed : 21-11-2023  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.