Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter Find us on Youtube View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

Tenders & Suppliers Info

News & Recruitment

Public Information

Contact Us

About Us
         About us
            History Milestone
               Historical Milestone

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Historical Milestone

1853 First train ran between Victoria Terminus to Thane. 

        Regular train service for public.

        Two trains each way introduce in Bombay – Thane and Bombay – Mahim  (via Dadar) Section

1854 Lord Elphinstone opened Thane-Kalyan Section

1855 Line extended from Kalyan to Vasind on North East side.

1856 Line extended from Kalyan to Palasdhari on South East side.

1858 Khandala – Pune line opened.
         (There was no line between Palasdari to Khandala

1860 Vasind – Asangaon Section opened.

1861 Asangaon – Kasara Section opened.

1862 Bombay – Pune line opened.
         (Palasdari – Khandala Section opened)

1865 Bombay – Igatpuri service started
         (Kasara – Igatpuri Section opened)
GIP Railway Time Table indicated ‘local trains’ for the first time for the Bombay – Mahim & Bombay – Kalyan Section.

1869 GIP Railway local extended from Mahim to Bandra

1877 New Station Masjid, Chinchpokli, Parel, Ghatkopar & Diva opened.

1878 Works started to construct Victoria Terminus Station Building.

1879 GIP Railway ran 14 local each way including 5 Kurla terminating trains. Currey Road station was presumably used for
         loading / unloading horses from Mahalaxmi. Parel Workshop established.   
1885 Victoria Terminus – Byculla doubling Works completed.

1888 Victoria Terminus Station building constructed in Gothic style at an approximate cost of Rs. 16.4 lakhs.

1889 6 Platforms constructed at Bombay Victoria Terminus.

1903 Victoria Terminus Station Signals interlocked for Safety/ operation.

1905 Line quadrupled (from Victoria Terminus) up to Currey Road.

1906 General Rules framed for Railways.
         Single line between Kurla & Chembur opened for garbage clearance.

1910 Harbour line (Double line) opened from Kurla to Reay Road with Reay Road Terminus.

1913 Suburban Terminals at Kurla, Thane & Kalyan opened.
1914 Double line between Raoli cabin & Mahim on Harbour Branch completed.

1915 Currey Road – Thane quadrupling completed. Matunga Workshop established.

1916 4316 feet Parsik tunnel opened for traffic.

1917 Thane – Kalyan quadrupling completed.

1920 Electric lighting of Signals introduced Currey Road & Dadar Section.

1924 Kurla – Chembur line opened for suburban traffic.

1925 EMU Rakes, manufactured by English Electric Co., introduced between Bombay & Kurla on Harbour Branch. The
         Section declared as Suburban.
         Victoria Terminus – Bandra Suburban service commissioned with an elevated Platform at Sandhurst Road.

1927 4 Coach Rake on Harbour Branch & 8 Coach on Main Line introduced.

1928 Automatic Signaling System introduced on Victoria Terminus – Byculla Section.
         Electrification completed up to Kalyan.

1929 Punjab Limited Express started to run every Thursday on GIP Railway between Bombay & Lahore.

1930 Deccan Queen introduced to run between Bombay & Pune with 7 Coaches.

1950 Kalyan – Igatpuri Section electrified. Kurla – Mankhurd Section electrified.

1951 One track between Kurla – Mankhurd opened for suburban Steam service.

1952 Kurla – Mankhurd trains switched to Electric Traction.

1954 Facility of sleeping accommodation for III class Passengers introduced for first time.

1956 Claim Prevention organisation established on Central Railway.

1963 8 Car Rake converted to 9 Car Rake on Main Line.

Safety Organisation set up.

1964 4 Car Rake converted to 6 Car Rake on Kalyan – Kasara & Kalyan – Karjat Sections.

1964 Diva – Panvel Section opened for Passenger traffic.

1974 Pay & Park scheme introduced at Victoria Terminus.

1975 Bombay – Manmad Panchvati Express flagged off.

1976 Smoking in Suburban train prohibited.

1979 177 / 178 Pune – Jammu Tawi Jhelum Express introduced.

1980 Third Ghat line commissioned on North East side.

1981 Ladies accommodation increased on Suburban trains.

1982 First class accommodation increased on suburban trains.

1983-84 Diva – Vasai Road Section opened for haulage of traffic.

1986 First 12 Car Rake inaugurated on trial basis.

1987 Computerised Booking of Reservation at Victoria Terminus for Mahanagari & Pushpak Express.

1989 Bombay – Pune Indrayani Express introduced.

1990 First ‘Double Discharge’ Platform at Victoria Terminus.
Computerised Reservation Office opened at Kalyan.

1991 All Platforms at Victoria Terminus made ‘Double Discharge’ type.
         First Hospital on Wheels in the World “Lifeline Express” inaugurated from Victoria Terminus.
         1st class accommodation made 07-00 hrs to 20-30 hrs.
         Kurla Terminus opened.

2125 / 2126 Bombay – Pune Pragati Express introduced.

1927 seats reserved for Senior Citizens.
         Harbour Line Suburban Service extended to Vashi.
         First Ladies Special inaugurated. (upto Kalyan)

1993 Harbour Line Suburban Services extended to Nerul
         Accommodation for Physically handicapped in Suburban trains.
         Harbour Line Suburban Service extended to Belapur.
         First Chopper controlled Suburban train introduced.
         Suburban Season Tickets computerised.
         Computerised Reservation Office opened at Kurla Terminus.

1994 Computerised Reservation Office opened at Belapur.

1995 Harbour Line Suburban Services extended to Khandeshwar
         Diva – Veer (Now in Konkan Railway) DMU Services inaugurated (Second Rake).
         Second 12 Car Rake introduced.

1996 Victoria Terminus (VT) formally renamed Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (CST).
         Executive Class in Shatabdi Express introduced.
         Reservation Quota for Physically Handicapped introduced in all trains.

1997 Central Railway launched “Tatkal” scheme for passenger refunds at Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus.

1998 Inauguration of Doubling of Diva-Panvel Section at Panvel.
         Flagging off the inaugural Harbour Line Suburban Services from Panvel.
         Inauguration of Coupon Validating Machines on Central Railway at Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus.

1999 Credit Card facility for Season Tickets at Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus Booking Office.
         Inauguration of newly constructed Platform No. 7 at Thane.
         Services extended up to Kaman from Vasai Road.

Source : Central Railway / Indian Railways Portal CMS Team Last Reviewed on: 25-02-2011  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.